supermemphis.blogg.se

Docker for mac embedded dns
Docker for mac embedded dns






Have verified it upgrades from Pi-Hole v4.4 to 5.0 with no issues.Allows us to keep the configs seperate, making upgrading easier.No port conflicts means the data is accurate for all devices, not just a summary.Give the Pi-Hole it’s own IP address which bypasses any port conflicts with Synology.

docker for mac embedded dns

Much better control over the environment because we’re using the highly configurable ‘Portainer’ for admin.Using this method has the following advantages. So here it is- the best way to deploy Pi-Hole on Synology in Docker! (Notice it doesn’t say easy? I made it as easy as possible, but it’s still a lot of steps, however once done it will (probably) last forever and make your life immeasurably better, and get you a supermodel girlfriend. If you just want to get your Pi-Hole running quickly, go here. As stated in the notes to that post there’s a few problems with the data it generates and I really thought it could be made better.

docker for mac embedded dns

The post with a similar title called ‘the easy way’ is far and away the most popular post on this entire site, but I’ve been wanting to improve it for ages. This is a pretty long article so here’s a list of contents. Next step was to test with the container.7 November 2020- Updated to include Portainer 2.0Ģ1 September 2021- updated to use new variables for DNS So I replaced my old MAC Address in PfSense with the newly generated address by UnRaid and used it for that VM, and of course, it worked ! So I found out that instead of trying to manually generate a random MAC address, it's much more reliable to generate a MAC address using the "refresh" icon next to the MAC address field of the Edit VM Config page. I knew about unicast / multicast addresses but my knowledge on that subject was too limited to understand exactly what role that played in relation to VMs and Containers. Upon saving the VM config, UnRaid complained about the MAC address being invalid (something about being a multicast address). On the other hand, the container's logs, the system logs and the docker logs within UnRaid were silent on the issue, and it was just "not working", I hope this can be improved in the future.īefore trying the container, I tried with a VM, because with those you can directly assign a MAC address so I thought it would be more straightforward. Next, I checked my other switch, and decided to reset it because there were lots of configuration options, and I think I remembered tweaking it at some point to make this work for LAN parties.Īfter that, I retried my LXC container created with Proxmox, and it worked ! When I had problems starting my container before resetting my switch, Proxmox was a lot more verbose when it came to tell me it wasn't able to assign the IP address to the container, so that's how I knew something was wrong on my network.

DOCKER FOR MAC EMBEDDED DNS WINDOWS

I checked my switch configuration (using a Windows VM and installing their ProSafe Management Software) and nothing seemed out of place, actually that switch doesn't have that many settings. Note that at this point, even my newly created Promox LXC containers weren't working with addresses from 192.168.1.119 and new MAC Addresses, even if I was following the exact same procedure I was doing before (which was working): There are a few things that need to be configured properly in order for this to work, so a combination of previous steps and the following solved my issue. executing container initialization scripts.įatal: unable to access '': Couldn't resolve host ''Īlright guys here is the conclusion to this epic quest to assign a static IP to a docker container.

docker for mac embedded dns docker for mac embedded dns

ensuring user provided files have correct perms.exited 0. making user provided files available at /var/run/s6/etc.exited 0. I will post my actual settings in case there is something wrong with my whole configuration and maybe you'll be able to spot it.

  • I tried stopping docker + VMs and re-saving the Network settings, then restarted everything.
  • I'm indeed changing the value of Extra Parameters in the sickrage container.
  • I tried using a static IP + MAC address like in your example.
  • The containers seem to be nicely installed.
  • Then I tried deleting the Orphan image, deleting pipework, re-downloading pipework, and when it asked for the settings I immediately put dreamcat4/pipework:1.1.6 in the repository field.
  • First, I tried using the variable instead of sickrage in the parameter.





  • Docker for mac embedded dns